Thursday, June 1, 2023
HomeNationIt's rejection of divisive politics & corruption: Sonia Gandhi

It’s rejection of divisive politics & corruption: Sonia Gandhi

Sonia Gandhi, the former President of the All India Congress Committee (AICC), expressed her views on the recent Karnataka assembly election, emphasizing that the Congress party’s victory signifies a rejection of divisive politics and corruption.

In a personalized video address, Gandhi stated, “It is a rejection of politics of divisiveness and a rejection of corruption,” She further asserted that the mandate received by the Congress party reflects the people’s desire for a government that prioritizes the welfare of its citizens, particularly the underprivileged.

Gandhi assured the people of Karnataka that the Congress government would remain steadfast in fulfilling its promises to them.

“I am proud that the first Cabinet meeting has already approved the immediate implementation of our five guarantees. The Congress remains committed to the prosperity, peace and progress of Karnataka. Jai Hind,” she said.

Gandhi said, “From my heart, I wish to thank all of you, the people of Karnataka for giving the Congress such a historic mandate.”

Following the Cabinet meeting at Vidhana Soudha, Chief Minister Siddaramaiah addressed a news conference, stating that the implementation of the party’s five guarantees, referred to as the 5Gs, would commence after the next cabinet meeting, scheduled to take place within a week. Siddaramaiah also announced a three-day assembly session in Karnataka, commencing on May 22.

During the oath-taking ceremony in the afternoon, eight Congress MLAs were sworn in as ministers in the Karnataka Cabinet. Among those taking the oath were Priyank Kharge, the son of Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, as well as party MLAs G Parameshwara and MB Patil. Additional ministers who assumed office included KH Muniyappa, KJ George, Satish Jarkiholi, Ramalinga Reddy, and BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan.

Prominent figures from the Congress party, including Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, and Mallikarjun Kharge, attended the event, alongside Congress Chief Ministers Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu of Himachal Pradesh, Ashok Gehlot of Rajasthan, and Bhupesh Baghel of Chhattisgarh.

Moreover, several leaders from opposition parties were invited to the swearing-in ceremony. Among the dignitaries present were Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav, and former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Ministers Mehbooba Mufti and Farooq Abdullah.

Aryan Jakhar

Aryan Jakhar works as an Editor-in-Chief at The Shining Media. Also, he is an editor at YouthPolitician (digital media situated in Taiwan). He writes his opinions on social issues at YouthKiAwaaz and also on his blogger website.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular