Users may now reset and wipe data from their locked iPad or iPhone without having to connect to a Mac or PC thanks to Apple’s new Security Lockout function.
The feature is included in iOS 15.2 and iPadOS 15.2, which were published earlier this week by the Cupertino-based tech company. It is only activated when consumers repeatedly fail to enter the right passcode on their iPhone or iPad. For the resetting process to work, the device must be linked to a cellular or WiFi network.
Previously, Apple only permitted users to reset and wipe data on their locked iPad or iPhone after connecting to a Mac or PC. By allowing native reset of locked devices, the Security Lockout functionality has made this need easier to meet.
The function, according to Apple’s support page, is designed to assist consumers in resetting their devices if they forget their passcode. Strangers, on the other hand, will not be able to reset a locked iPhone or iPad with Security Lockout since Apple ID credentials are required.
After a series of failed passcode entries, the Security Lockout mode will appear on the lock screen. It will include an Erase iPhone or Erase iPad button that will permanently erase data and reset the device, depending on the model. To sign out of their Apple ID on the device, users must type their Apple ID password.
When the Security Lockout mode is activated, all data on the iPhone or iPad is wiped, and the device is reset to factory settings. As a result, periodic data backups are recommended to keep data loss to a minimal.
The capability is currently only available in iOS 15.2 and iPadOS 15.2. The disabled notification with a shortcut to access emergency contacts will continue to appear in earlier versions.